Eager to learn more about Asheville School? Join us for an upcoming virtual tour with our Admission Team this summer!

Learn more & register today!
Skip to Main Content
June 3, 2022

2021-2022 Fine Arts Awards & Recognition

Dramatic Arts Awards

Outstanding Performance by a Featured Actor in a Play: Chloe Butler ’25
Outstanding Performance by a Featured Actor in a Musical: Marley Trumbower ’23
Outstanding Performance by a Lead Actor in a Musical: Jaden Deutscher ’23
Outstanding Technical Theater Contribution: Tianlu Qiao ’25

Music Awards

Outstanding Choral Singer: Sasho Yang ’23
Outstanding Instrumentalist: Caroline Vo ’22
Outstanding Handbell Ensemble Leadership: Gracey Abernethy ’23

Dance Awards

Outstanding Support of the Dance Program: Ky Nam Le ’22
Outstanding Four-Year Achievement in Dance Performance and Choreography: Coco He ’22

Visual Arts Awards

Most Improved Art Student: Georgia Stone ’24
Young Visionary Award: Owen Soccorso ’23
Excellence in Visual Art: Jiahn Ann Lee ’24
The Purchase Prize: Kate Choi ’23 for her oil painting, Truce.
The Purchase Prize is awarded to the student who has created an outstanding piece of artwork. This work is chosen by the School to enter its permanent collection. 

Regional Scholastic Awards
Asheville School students’ artwork has been recognized by a panel of creative professionals as the most outstanding work submitted among Western North Carolina peers for this years’ Scholastic Art Awards. Of 540 total entries, the judges selected 190 artworks for regional awards. All were blindly adjudicated using the criteria of Originality, Technical Skill, and Emergence of a Personal Voice or Vision. Overall, in WNC there were 20 Gold Keys, 57 Silver Keys, 104 Honorable Mentions, and 5 National American Vision Nominees. Of those Asheville School students earned 7 Gold Keys, 10 Silver Keys, 24 Honorable Mentions, and 3 National American Vision Nominees. 

Please view the full list of Regional Scholastic Award recipients and their artwork here. Logan Brunk ’23 and Jiahn Ann Lee ’24 will be recognized on June 9th in New York City at Carnegie Hall for their artistic achievements.  

Performing Arts Awards

Asheville School Dramatic Society Inductees
Each year the Theatre Arts program inducts new students into the Asheville School Dramatic Society. Founded in 1903, the Dramatic Society is the oldest [continuing] student organization on campus. In order to qualify for membership, students must participate in three or more productions – as actors, technicians, or production team members.

  • Jimmy Deaton ’22
  • Marley Trumbower ’23
  • Amelia Krebs ’23
  • Jacob Antepli ’22
  • Zenia Asad ’22
  • Ky Nam Le ’22
  • Coco He ’22
  • Roisin Darby ’22
  • Tianlu Qiao ’25

William Bryant Wellons, III Award: Jake Bernstein ’22
The William Bryant Wellons III award for excellence in the performing arts is awarded to one whose contribution to the school through the performing arts echoes the talent, enthusiasm, and character of William Bryant Wellons, III of the Class of 1990.

Michalove Award in Drama: Jimmy Deaton ’22
The Michalove Award in Drama is given in memory of Ronald Steven Michalove of the Class of 1965. The award celebrates outstanding theatrical achievement and is bestowed in the form of a prize book, one copy of which is placed in the permanent collection of the library.