Eager to learn more about Asheville School? Join us for an upcoming virtual tour with our Admission Team this summer!

Learn more & register today!
Skip to Main Content
September 8, 2023

Asheville School Awards Scholars for Academic Excellence 

On Monday, September 4, the Academic Office recognized students for their academic accomplishments in the 2022-2023 school year. Congratulations to the following students for their demonstrated excellence and commitment to their studies.

Maintained an Unweighted GPA of 4.0 on a 4.3 Scale

  • Jessie Acquah
  • Chloe Butler
  • Eloise Durham
  • Hannah Fendler
  • Molly Green
  • Hipolito Gonzalez Gerard
  • Ariya Jensen
  • Kate Jeon
  • Christopher Li
  • Jack Pan
  • Diana Phan
  • Patrick Plaehn
  • Tianlu Qiao
  • MJ Saunders
  • Sam Schenker
  • Grace Shi
  • Annie Shores
  • Ellie Shores
  • Madeleine Stark
  • George Swan Tuite
  • Miranda Wang
  • Yoga Wang
  • Tyler Wit
  • Jenn Xu
  • Stella Yang
  • Aden Zhao
  • Amy Zhu

Maintained a GPA of 4.3 on our 4.4 Scale

  • Chloe Butler
  • Eloise Durham
  • Tianlu Qiao
  • Yoga Wang

Ranking Scholars

Asheville School acknowledges ranking scholars, the student with the highest GPA, of each form for the school year.

  • The Ranking Scholar of last year’s Sixth Form & the School, Sasho Yang, was recognized at Commencement for the Class of 2023.
  • The Ranking Scholar of last year’s Third Form was Eloise Durham.
  • The Ranking Scholar of last year’s Fourth Form was a tie between Grace Shi and Jennifer Xu.
  • The Ranking Scholar of last year’s Fifth Form was Miranda Wang.

Scholar Athlete Awards

Asheville School presents the Scholar Athlete Awards to students who cumulative grade point average for the year is Honors or High Honors and who have played and lettered in three varsity sports during the school year. Those maintaining an Honors average (unweighted GPA between 3.5 and 3.75) while lettering in three sports receive a silver pin. Those maintaining a High Honors (unweighted GPA above 3.75) average receive a gold pin.

Scholar Athlete Silver Pin Recipients:

  • Princess Adeyi
  • Nic Herakovic
  • Lilly Hubbard
  • Leila Kirkconnell

Scholar Athlete Gold Pin Recipients:

  • Hannah Fendler
  • Annie Shores
  • Abby Smith
  • Annaclaire Vo
  • Sofi Zuber

Cum Laude Society

The Cum Laude Society is a fellowship of scholars whose purpose is to recognize academic excellence as well as good character, honor, and integrity in all aspects of school life.  As you pursue your education, it is our hope that you will accept the honor of membership in this Society as a responsibility to make some contribution to the ongoing search for a greater understanding of humanity and of society.

The following members of the senior class were inducted into the Cum Laude Society:

  • Margaret Harris
  • Tilley Lie-Nielsen
  • Jack Pan
  • Patrick Plaehn
  • Ginny Thorsen
  • Miranda Wang
  • Sofi Zuber