Eager to learn more about Asheville School? Join us for an upcoming virtual tour with our Admission Team this spring and summer!

Learn more & register today!
Skip to Main Content
June 10, 2019

Asheville School Recognizes Outstanding Student-Athletes During 2019 Athletic Banquet

On Thursday, May 23, the Asheville School community celebrated this year’s outstanding student athletes for their contributions to the athletic department.

The Joseph A. Riggs, Jr. Award for Best Female Athlete: Rachel S. Kuehn
The David Ralph Millard, Jr. Award for Best Male Athlete: Titus E. Morrison
The Gene M. Hamilton Sportsmanship Award: Sarah M. Abernethy
The James G. “Pop” Hollandsworth Mountaineering Award: Marie Tankard
The Charles N. Carter Leadership Award: Ben Williamson

Three Sport Varsity Letter Winners – Boys:
Charlie Bednar, Kris Castro, Zach Drendel, Major Eason, Jose Gonzalez Gerard, Tom Good, Connor Hovendon, Proud Jiao, Tomson Kaplan, Satchel McCutchen, Park McIntosh, Declan Mettee, Jackson Moore, Titus Morrison and Jose Salazar

Three Sport Varsity Letter Winners – Girls:
Reagan Bednar, Caroline Bridges, Alyssa Drendel, Jennifer Fish, Vivian Gregory, Claire Hill, Anne Johnson, Sara Frances Jones, Mecca Morrison, Julia Nolletti, Audrey Shores and Grayson Sword.

Special Recognition Awards:
12 Varsity Letters in her Asheville School Career Julia L. Nolletti
13 Varsity Letters in his Asheville School Career Titus E. Morrison

New School Records:
Girls’ Swimming: Abby Kriegler – 100 Breaststroke
Girls’ Track & Field: Alyssa Drendel, Mecca Morrison, Sophie Moseley, Halle Perry – 4×200
Boys’ Track & Field: Kris Castro, Heath Chase, Chris Hemphill, Titus Morrison – 4×100

Collegiate Athletes:
those students who earned the opportunity to participate in athletics at the college level
Abby Kriegler: NC State (Swimming)
Rachel Kuehn: Wake Forest (Golf)
Major Eason: Swarthmore College (Basketball)
Regan Bednar: Guilford College (Lacrosse)
Skylan Thompson: Centre College (Lacrosse)
Titus Morrison: College of Holy Cross (Football)

Bromley Pin Recipients:
Bromley Pins recognize athletes who earned their third varsity letter. Bromley Pins honor long-time faculty member Ron Bromley, who taught math and coached football and track at Asheville School for over 30 years.

Lindsay Forsythe, Joseph Loebsack, Justin Merriwether, Luke Mitchell, Emma Lyn Nolletti, Morgan Oxenreider, Scotty Anderson, Reagan Bednar, Lucas Chen, Connor Davis, Joseph Delaloye, Zach Drendel, Lien Duke, Thomas Good, Corey Henderson, Tomson Kaplan, Michael Roberts, Anna Rogers, Jimmy Wang, Anne Johnson, Satchel McCutchen, Mecca Morrison, Jose Salazar, Lia Sprouse, Crow Thorsen, Gabrielle Trichon, Charlie Bednar, Alyssa Drendel, Park McIntosh, Jackson Moore and Connor Smith.