Eager to learn more about Asheville School? Join us for an upcoming virtual tour with our Admission Team this summer!

Learn more & register today!
Skip to Main Content
February 26, 2020

Student Athletes Honored During Winter Athletic Convocation

Asheville School student athletes were honored during the Winter Athletic Convocation in the Graham Theater on Tuesday morning, February 25. Student varsity letter winners, Valier/Outstanding recipients, and all-conference and all-state athletes were recognized from the fall athletic season. The Valier/Outstanding award recipients were Sasha Jones ’20 (2020 Outstanding Award in Girls’ Basketball), Corey Henderson ‘20 (2020 Valier Award in Boys’ Basketball), Park McIntosh ’22 (2020 Edward T. McBride Award in Wrestling), Katie Bauer ’21 (2020 Outstanding Award in Girls’ Swimming), and Patrick Sleater ’22 and Benjamin Thorsen ’21 (2020 Outstanding in Boys’ Swimming). 

Those honored for All-Conference included Corey Henderson ’20 for Boys’ Basketball (CAA); Katie Bauer ’21, Alyssa Drendel ’22, Natasha Van Niekierk ’23, and Sara Frances Jones ’20 for Girls’ Swimming (CAA); Patrick Sleater ’22, Tucker Valliere ’23, Benjamin Thorsen ’21, Gordon Boggan ’21, Joseph Delaloye ’20, Isaac Fishman ’22, Michael Chang ’21, and Connor Smith ’22 for Boys’ Swimming (CAA). Students honored for All-State were Patrick Sleater ’22, Isaac Fishman ’22, Michael Chang ’21, Joseph Delaloye ’20, Connor Smith ’22, Benjamin Thorsen ’21, and Tucker Valliere ’23 for Boys’ Swimming (NCISAA Division II).