Eager to learn more about Asheville School? Join us for an upcoming virtual tour with our Admission Team this summer!

Learn more & register today!
Skip to Main Content
June 10, 2019

Students Recognized in the Class of 2019 Academic Honors Convocation

On Thursday, May 23, Asheville School held the Class of 2019 Academic Honors Convocation in the Graham Theater.

At the beginning of the convocation, Director of Alumni Relations Burt Gordon led the Alumni Pinning Ceremony. Each member of the senior class was recognized and welcomed into the Asheville School Alumni Association.

Head of School Arch Montgomery then invited to the stage Lieutenant Colonel Marc Boberg, who recognized Julia Nolletti for her appointment to the United States Military Academy.

Assistant Head of School Jay Bonner presented Scholar Athlete Awards, which recognize seniors who maintained a high honors average while lettering in three sports. Those seniors were Major EasonJennifer FishClaire Hill,Titus MorrisonJulia Nolletti and Grayson Sword.

Next, students were recognized for their work on the Senior Demonstration. The Senior Demonstration is the academic capstone of the sixth form at Asheville School. Students read three books, write two papers analyzing those books, and take part in an oral presentation and defense.

Thirteen members of the Class of 2019 earned Commendation on their Senior Demonstrations: Maggie ChangBella KingRachel KuehnMargot LapeyreCynthia LiJoseph LoebsackRyland MetteeJack MulweeAlex ParkAddie TriversAmanda WestleJackson Xu and Annabelle Yu.

Arch Montgomery then led the presentation of the Jack W. Bonner IV Senior Demonstration Prizes. These prizes honor Jay Bonner for his extraordinary commitment to his students and to the senior demonstration program and are awarded to those sixth formers who earn High Commendation on their Senior Demonstrations.

Seniors who received High Commendation are: Sarah AbernethyNichole AlleyneMiles BuddyHannah ChaySydney ClarkMajor EasonJennifer FishCarolina FrischAudrey GeeKamryn GrahamClaire HillBo JohnsonAndrew KlumpAmelia LeaphartOliver LewisLuke MitchellEmma Lyn NollettiJulia Nolletti, Lucy OwenGrayson SwordMarie TankardAlex Wu and Emily Zuo.

Bonner then presented awards for academic excellence.

Excellence in Psychology I – Rachel Kuehn 
Excellence in Psychology II – Andrew Klump 
Excellence in Anatomy and Physiology I –Ryland Mettee 
Excellence in Anatomy and Physiology II – Emma Lyn Nolletti 
Excellence in AP Environmental Science – Jackson Xu 
Excellence in First Year Physics – Hannah Chay 
Excellence in AP Spanish V – Claire Hill 
Excellence in AP French V – Grayson Sword 
Excellence in Chinese IV – Jennifer Fish 
Excellence in Chinese V – Alex Park 
Excellence in Visual Art – Tori Kim 
Excellence in American Studies Literature – Claire Hill 
Excellence in American Studies History – Audrey Gee

The Asheville School Mathematics Prizes are supported by a permanent endowment fund created by the family, classmates and friends of George S. Stearns, Jr., a member of the Class of 1932 and a Trustee from 1971 to 1976.

Stearns Award for Excellence in AP Computer Science – Jennifer Fish 
Stearns Award for Excellence in AP Statistics Applied – Jack Mulwee 
Stearns Award for Excellence in AP Statistics – Emily Zuo 
Stearns Award for Excellence in Advanced Topics in Mathematics – Jennifer Fish

The award for the senior who achieved the best record in the humanities during his or her career is presented by the Pen and Plate Club of Asheville in memory of Frances Eugene Field, Class of 1917, and Charles Edward Waddell, Class of 1925. The 2019 Humanities Prize was presented to Emily Zuo.

In closing, Asheville School Instructors James Pharr and Leah Lambert, who are president and secretary of the Asheville School Cum Laude Society, welcomed new members of the Class of 2019 to the society. The Asheville School Cum Laude Chapter was founded in 1929, and it recognizes scholars of preeminent ability, industry and character.

Pharr and Lambert honored the following seniors with membership: Nicole AlleyneMaggie ChangHannah ChayJennifer FishCaroline Frisch, Audrey GeeClaire HillRachel KuehnCynthia LiLuke MitchellGrayson Sword, Alex WuJackson XuAnnabelle Yu and Emily Zuo.

Join us in wishing these scholars congratulations!

Click here to see photos from the convocation and click here to watch it on-demand.